h1

Space Freight review (Universal)

March 10, 2011

“They’ve no fuel, they’ve got to land soon
They can’t land by the light of the moon”

10 word description: Space themed, line-drawing, land ships, shoot enemies. Game Center.
10 word review: At last, a line-drawing game that I really like!

You will like this if you enjoy: Flight Control, other line-drawing type games.

It all starts reasonably quietly...

The good news: Space Freight has made line-drawing fun again! It looks great, sounds great and plays really well.

No, I can't figure out how to take a screen shot and fire the gun at the same time.

The bad news: Die-hard line-drawing haters are going to miss out on a very entertaining game.

And ... you've run out of fingers!

Arcadelife verdict: I’m really not a great fan of line-drawing games; I found Flight Control to be a bit boring and I was just no good at it. This, however, takes the basic “draw lines to land your ships” concept, packs it into a nice, tight, operating zone and throws in the threat of enemy ships that you have to shoot down with the swipe-to-fire mounted laser cannon. It gets hectic quite quickly and you can go from “Yay, I’m the man!” to “Oh sh*t!” in a matter of seconds. Graphically, particularly on the iPad, it is very nice – clean, sharp spaceships and colourful engine trails. The line-drawing and the laser cannon control methods are spot-on. As I said, anyone who really hates line-drawing games isn’t going to change their opinion because that’s the core game mechanic here, but I found this game to be great fun and I’m not that keen on the line-drawing genre in general.

For a very brief period of time, I am the best player in the world, ever.

The version of Space Freight  that Arcadelife reviewed is 1.20  

iImagine website link  

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
3rd gen iPod Touch (OS 4.3)
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 4.3)
iPad (OS 4.3)
One comment

  1. I’m over my flight control addiction. I recommend ‘Blockade’ too for a similarly themed and polished line drawer.



Leave a Reply

