h1

A.I.R Defense HD review (iPad)

May 13, 2011

“We’ve got a thing that’s called radar love
We’ve got a line in the sky”

10 word description: Protect bases from attack in futuristic take on tower defence.

'All your base are belong to us' ... let's hope not, ok?

10 word review: Stylish radar/vector graphics help disguise a fairly basic game.

You will like this if you enjoy: Tower/Castle defence games, line drawing (flight control) style games, Boom Brigade (because that’s surprisingly similar in gameplay).

See tank. Draw line. Bomb them back to the stone age. Return to base unscathed ... hopefully

The good news: It looks good, has its own green-screen radar/vector style and is very intuitive to play. Effects are good too.

What? No napalm? Booooo!

The bad news: I found it quite hard. Ok, yeah, I know, I’m a wuss and crap at games, ok, you got me there.

Well you see, I was too busy taking screen shots to play the game properly and .... oh, whatever.

Arcadelife verdict: The graphical style tends to lift it above the fairly basic gameplay on offer. That isn’t to say the game isn’t fun, because it is, just that the style is unique enough to add an extra “ooh, this looks good” factor before you even start playing. To me it seemed like what the original Battlezone game might have looked like if viewed top down, with better effects and some glowing stuff, and a few more colours than just green, and planes, and helicopters, and … you get the idea.


Yes, I know that’s a video of the iPod/iPhone version, it’s the only one Chillingo seems to have on YouTube.

Arcadelife rating: 78/100

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.1
iTunes link

Chillingo – A.I.R Defense website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
iPad (OS 4.3.2 and OS 4.3.3)
One comment

  1. This review reminded me that I’d bought this game. I should play it some time 🙂



Leave a Reply

