h1

Mad Wheels HD review (iPad)

August 7, 2011

“If you see me coming get out of my way
You know a Trans Am didn’t, I blew it away”

10 word description: Arcade racer; quick-race, championship, multiplayer. Power-ups and weapons.

10 word review: Fun, action packed racer. Loads of explosions. Challenging boss races.

As realistic as a pay-per-view WWE title fight and just as colourful

You will like this if you enjoy: Death Rally, Scrap Metal, Reckless Racing, racing games that include weapons.

The vehicles remind me of the original Carmageddon, you know, before they were forced to censor out all the fun

The good news: Instantly accessible, entertaining, decent graphics, controls work well, multiple modes are always nice to have, different vehicles and weapons add variety.

The boss fight races are tough enough to present a fairly real challenge

The bad news: It falls slightly short of the polish of Death Rally, although I personally found the tracks in this game to be generally less frustrating than some of Death Rally’s more convoluted efforts. It’s also more cartoony than DR; compare the virtually identical content of the icons for an example of what I mean.

Death Rally icon

Mad Wheels icon

Arcadelife verdict: If you’re hoping for a definitive answer to the question, “Do I need this game if I already have Death Rally?” I’m afraid I am not going to make it that easy for you. They’re different enough to make buying both a viable option, particularly if you’re a huge arcade racer fan, but they’re also very similar games, albeit with varying styles and levels of polish. I like both of them and I also have several other similar games installed, such as both the Reckless games and a bunch of others.

Bottom line: there’s nothing so bad about Mad Wheels that you should avoid it just because it’s similar to Death Rally. Does that help? I hope so…

Arcadelife rating: 83/100

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0
iTunes link

Chillingo / Mad Wheels website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
iPad (OS 4.3.5)
Leave a Reply

