h1

Tapsteroids review (iPod/iPhone)

September 4, 2011

“Get your rocks off, get your rocks off, honey”

10 word description: Tap-screen Asteroid defence. 4 weapons, difficulty settings, game center.

Destroy rocks. Defend ships and central base. The simple concepts are often the best

10 word review: Way better than I thought it was going to be. (Lucky roll of 10 words at my first attempt. I’m tired. May have to use this one again at some point).

I really should have used the Purple Haze lyrics

You will like this if you enjoy: Destroying Asteroids without controlling a ship, just be tapping the screen. Spaceships that automatically fly to a space station and land without you having to draw lines on the screen.

More innocent rocks die for my hi-score

The good news: It’s a fun game, it really is. I was expecting something far less entertaining. I like the graphics and the general feel of the game. The way the missiles find the best path to the target is always rather cool.

The bad news: Apart from weapon selection, you’re only ever just tapping the screen. However … I am aware that a hell of a lot of iOS games are “just tapping the screen” and hardly anyone ever complains. Someone hoping for an actual Asteroids style game (who doesn’t read the bits about tapping the screen) might be disappointed.

Arcadelife verdict: Not bad at all. Seriously, it’s pretty good. You can tell I’m tired, can’t you. Well, I’m sorry. I completely missed yesterday (no review or anything) because I was off having fun at the beach. I’ve just got home, unpacked, and I’m trying to write a quick review. Be thankful the game is decent or it would just be a load of swearing.

Arcadelife rating: 72/100

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0.0
iTunes link

UNAgames / Tapsteroids website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 4.3.5)
Leave a Reply

