h1

Kick the Buddy review (iPod/iPhone)

November 14, 2011

“Go buddy, go buddy, go buddy, go buddy, go go go”

10 word description: Interactive stress relief. Kick the buddy, earn cash, unlock items.

I'm beating up an extra from Little Big Planet with a big iron mace. My family will be so proud of me

10 word review: Pointless yet rather gratifying. Plenty of content without the IAPs.

It's ok, there's no blood...

You will like this if you enjoy: Assaulting a helpless ragdoll character with an large arsenal of vicious weapons.

What kind of message is this sending out to impressionable 48 year-olds?

The good news: Graphics are ok. Controls are ok. There’s plenty of content to unlock with in-game cash without having to go anywhere near the In-App-Purchases. You can give the ragdoll character a face from your photo library.

He's covered in hand grenades, what a jape ... and ... oops, I think he's dead

The bad news: It’s not really a game, just a toy. I found myself mourning the fate of humanity after about 15 minutes. 15 minutes is way too long to play this game in one session.

Celebrating my mindless brutality with a ticker-tape party

Arcadelife verdict: Initially, I just thought “What is the point of this?” Then I saw something I wanted to unlock for $300 and kept smacking the poor little bastard around until I could afford it. Then I started wishing it had blood and gore, at which point I had to question my own sanity. So go ahead, get it, turn yourself into a desensitised monster, just like me.

Arcadelife rating: 65/100

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.10
iTunes link

App Zap website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 5.0)
Leave a Reply

