h1

Snoopy’s Street Fair review (iOS / Universal)

November 18, 2011

“From out of the skies a hero arose
A funny looking dog with a big black nose”

10 word description: Help Snoopy, Charlie Brown and Peanuts gang organise street fair.

You start off in a fairly empty street, with the objective of making a load of money by running a street fair

10 word review: Dodge the IAPs and enjoy a Peanuts themed tycoon game.

The loading screen shows what you might be able to accomplish ... one day

You will like this if you enjoy: Snoopy, Charlie Brown, Tycoon games (Fruit Juice Tycoon 2 seems a good comparison). Smurfs’ Village – same company, same IAP model.

Tapping on a customer's thought bubble will show you what they think of the fair, and other random thoughts they may be having

The good news: Really good graphics; almost perfect Peanuts visualisation (at least on iPad where I’ve mostly been playing it). Plenty to do and it’s all fun to watch, with lots of animations going on all the time. The in-game money seems to come rolling in fairly quickly, at least quick enough to buy quite a few stalls in the first half hour.

This is as far as you can zoom in. The graphics and animation are really very good

The bad news: I’m the wrong person to review this type of game because I can’t see the point of blowing real money on virtual items, mostly consumables, in any videogame. I know, I know … the model works and these games make lots of money, but that doesn’t mean it’s right and I’m wrong – the world just isn’t that simple, I’m afraid. The bad news here, at least from my perspective, is that a great looking game – that could have been sold for a flat fee without all the rather crazy IAP bundles – will only be fun for me up to the point where spending real money becomes a necessity, when I will just stop playing it. Would I buy this game if it had no IAP and was priced realistically? Yeah, probably, because it’s a very good game.

If this doesn't strike you as utterly crazy, you need to go and get this game right now. You're going to love it

Arcadelife verdict: I think I covered it in the bad news section. I like the game, and I’ll play it until I hit the IAP wall, then I’ll give up. I’m not saying people are stupid spending real money just to keep playing this kind of Freemium title, just that I’d feel stupid if I ever considered doing it.

Organise a street fair to make loads of money ... Alternatively, licence a popular cartoon strip for a videogame and fill it with IAPs

Arcadelife rating: 80/100

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0.1
iTunes link

Snoopy’s Street Fair website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 5.0)
iPad (OS 5.0)
One comment

  1. “I’m not saying people are stupid spending real money just to keep playing this kind of Freemium title, just that I’d feel stupid if I ever considered doing it.”

    Couldn’t agree more!



Leave a Reply

