h1

Petri Dash review (iOS / Universal)

December 1, 2011

“See the little nuclei …”

10 word description: Avoid the other creatures or attack them with your dash. (Lifted verbatim from app store description).

All games should start with "3-2-1 GO!" Yes, even Skyrim

10 word review: “Spore lite” melds sublime controls with addictive gameplay. Needs leaderboards.

You will like this if you enjoy: The first part of Spore, where you’re an amoeba or whatever. (Note to people who made Spore – You should have left it at that, the rest of the game was a complete disappointment. And the appalling Securom DRM wrecked my PC and it took me weeks to sort it out).

Here, I have a small green child in tow. This gives a score multiplier to any food I pick up or enemies I successfully ram at high speed

The good news: Nice graphics. Brilliant control method; yes, the complete absence of on-screen buttons and no tilt control means that someone is finally listening. Thank you. Back to the good news … Addictive gameplay. Score multiplier “children” (I don’t know what else to call them) add to the excellent high-score chasing hook of the game.

Now I have loads of kids. One accidental bump into an enemy and they're all lost. Shame

The bad news: No leaderboards. It seems to crash every time I collide with a particular enemy, the one that sort of swirls around like a Chinese fan opening when you bump into it. I can’t be more specific in my description of the enemy because, yeah, the game crashes every time I hit one of them. Hopefully this will be fixed, although it doesn’t really spoil the game, just gives me a more urgent incentive to avoid those enemies.

The wondrous assortment of mutated pondlife reminds me I need to pop into town tomorrow to do some shopping

Arcadelife verdict: Nice game, came out of nowhere for me and I’m glad I received it for review as it’s a great example of well considered touch controls and finely honed gameplay. Please just sort out that one bug and I’ll be really happy.

There are two modes: endless & timed. I bet you can't guess which one this is

Arcadelife rating: 80/100

This is my Game Over face. One of my wife's friends is called Mrs Petri. True story.

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0.4
iTunes link

Distorted Poetry website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 5.0.1)
iPad (OS 5.0)
One comment

  1. Thanks for the review! Just so you know the crash bug you mentioned has now been fixed and we have submitted the fix to Apple, so expect that fix in the next update! Also leaderboards will also be on the way in the very near future 🙂



Leave a Reply

