h1

Paper Monsters review (iOS / Universal)

January 26, 2012

“And I fall, well I fall, well I fall, yeah I fall”

10 word description: 2.5D platformer. Two control methods. 16 levels. Secrets. Game Center.

10 word review: Harsh Game Over and some glitches take the shine off.

You will like this if you enjoy: Great looking ‘cute’ platform games that are fun to play providing you don’t mind a few glitches and a truly evil “one fall = Game Over” rule.

The good news: Looks good, controls are ok, gameplay is mostly ok. Playing in both the foreground and the background is a nice feature.

The bad news: Before I start listing them, I’d love to see these issues fixed quickly because I feel rather sad (let down, really) that I’m not enjoying this game anywhere near as much as I could be.

– One fall = Game Over. You probably won’t notice this until level 3, which probably accounts for all the knee-jerk 5-star iTunes reviews claiming the game is perfect and the best iOs platformer ever.
– Jumping / double-jumping from flying enemies isn’t reliable.
– I fell through (glitched) several solid platforms, mostly to my untimely ‘one-fall = Game Over’ death.
– Mine carts that had to be moved in order to progress stuck to the floor for no apparent reason, resulting in a forced level restart.
– Areas of a level (1:3, for example) can be legitimately reached (i.e. without glitching) but then you’re stuck there unless you deliberately jump to your death. That’s just bad level design.
– Personal opinion – the whooping noise when he jumps … just irritates me.

Arcadelife verdict: I want to like this game,  but the frustration and annoyance of the glitches and the very harsh ‘one fall = Game Over’ are seriously affecting the amount of fun I can have with it. It isn’t because the game is hard; I love hard platform games. But if you compare this with something like 1-bit Ninja, where the intense difficulty came from pretty much perfect level design and ultra-reliable controls, it’s just an exercise in pretty graphics and a lack of care. It’s a shame, because it really could be as good as all the people who only played the first level are saying it is.

It's Game Over ... but I still have 3 lives left. If you're a masochist, you will love this game

Arcadelife rating

Visuals – 8.5/10
Audio – 7/10
Controls – 8/10
Content – 7.5/10
Fun – 3/10
Final rating – 68/100

Rating categories explained here.
Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0
iTunes link

Crescent Moon website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 5.0.1)
iPad (OS 5.0.1)
Leave a Reply

