h1

Box Cat review (iOS / Universal)

March 29, 2012

“I saw a motorcrash, a proper motorcrash”

10 word description: Smash Box Cat into cars and create traffic mayhem. Game Center.

Read the words inside that box. If you're not laughing, that's a shame

10 word review: I’m really not worthy of reviewing this bizarre, wonderful game.

This is squirrel cat. Don't ask me, I just work here

You will like this if you enjoy: Bonkers video games from a time when everyone was a lot happier.

A larger, powered up version of Box Cat

The good news: It’s very silly, but in a Bill and Ted way,  not a UK Government way. Giant square cats are awesome; we all know that.

A 38x combo - that's unspeakable carnage right there

The bad news: You’re not a giant square cat and you can’t run into traffic and smash cars around. I just thought I’d point that out.

Of course...

Arcadelife verdict: The way I feel, this is the best game that I could be playing today. Wrap your head around this concept: You guide a large square cat back and forth, left and right, across a busy road, smacking cars into one another and causing combo car crashes. (My best so far is a 51 x combo in rush hour mode). There’s no reason for any of this and it remains bafflingly ridiculous, the craziness escalating exponentially with every weird new cat character that you unlock. In my view, this is an essential game.

Arcadelife rating

Visuals – 6/10
Audio – 7/10
Controls – 8.5/10
Content – 8/10
Fun – 9.5/10
Final rating – 90/100

Rating categories explained here.
Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0
iTunes link

Box Cat website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 5.0.1)
iPad (OS 5.0.1)

Leave a comment