h1

Diablo 3 Hardcore Diary – Part 3

May 21, 2012

*** Warning – Contains spoilers ***

As I predicted yesterday, Rollins has reached the start of the Imprisoned Angel quest which means that some time today (if there aren’t any connection issues) he will be facing The Butcher and reaching the end of Act 1.

I completed the Last Stand of the Ancients event and had a fairly easy time of it in the Drowned Temple. I’m going to stick with the Templar sidekick character, for now anyway, because I like his heal abilities and unintentionally funny comments.

While I’m playing this character I’m constantly aware that every completed quest, every level-up, is just taking me closer and closer to that rather inevitable Game Over message. It’s an odd way to play an RPG, knowing that a lack of concentration or even a lag spike could shut Rollins down for good. It does make it all far more immediate; I’m not storing anything, I either sell my old gear to the NPC merchant or put it back on the auction house. I’m not even trying to make a lot of money off old gear, just enough to keep constantly replacing my equipped items with better ones.

This is the sort of thing you can pick up on the auction house. Keep those prices low, HC players!

My first socketed item in HC mode

Aggressive use of +XP items and some tactical quest repetition is keeping Rollins slightly ahead of the levelling curve. I’m considering repeating the whole Trail of the Coven section for the xp and gold, before starting the Imprisoned Angel quests. I don’t need to do it, but an unhealthy mixture of paranoia and gear-greed is encouraging me to face The Butcher in the most hard-to-kill state I can get to.

This fight wasn’t even close. I used a health potion but I would have been fine without it. In HC mode, “being fine” is what happens just before you die.

Here it is, level 15. Only 5 more to go for the next achievement. Yeah, keep telling yourself it’s “only 5 more to go”!

One final look at Rollins at level 15 on the hero select screen. I love that new helmet, very Crusaders, although I don’t think it matches the fluffy shoulder pieces.

Tomorrow, or maybe later today, part 4 should have a rousing celebration of Rollins’ completion of Act 1. Unless, of course, it all goes horribly wrong. Stay tuned…

[Diablo 3 Hardcore Diary – Go to Part 2]

[Diablo 3 Hardcore Diary – Go to Part 4]

Leave a Reply

