h1

Bee Farm review (iOS/Universal)

May 15, 2011

“Come on now, give me some sugar
Give me some sugar, little honey bee”

10 word description: Line drawing, guide bees around garden gathering pollen, avoid hazards.

10 word review: Interesting Blend of time management and line drawing. Cheerily colourful.

You will like this if you enjoy: Bloomies and Flight Control, because this game is like a combination of some of the aspects of those two games.

The good news: It’s colourful, simple to grasp, Universal and there are no zombies trying to wreck your garden. At least, I didn’t see any.

The bad news: If it doesn’t grab you in the first couple of levels, it never will.

Arcadelife verdict: I’m not a huge fan of line drawing games, I think I’ve mentioned that before in one of my many reviews of … line drawing games. I can see the appeal Bee Farm would have though, for anyone who likes a bit of line drawing.

Like Bloomies, it’s very colourful and the bees (and flowers) show quite a bit of personality. The line drawing is more like a fast-paced game of join the dots rather than a panic inducing plane-landing simulation. If the bees collide, they are only temporarily stunned and they lose any pollen they’re carrying – it isn’t instant Game Over.

Survival mode is initially quite tough, because you’re limited to the types of bees that you have so far unlocked in campaign mode. It’s quite a smart move, linking the two modes like that, as it adds an incentive to progress in the campaign, even if you are more interested in a survival (endless) mode.

Overall, not bad at all. If I was more turned on by line drawing games in general, I’d probably be very excited. As it is, I can see the appeal, it just isn’t something I tend to go for.

Arcadelife rating: 71/100

Version reviewed by Arcadelife is 1.0
iTunes link

Vivid Games – Bee Farm website link

Arcadelife played and reviewed this game on:
4th gen iPod Touch (OS 4.3.3)
iPad (OS 4.3.3)

One comment

  1. […] will like this if you enjoy: Flight Control style games; Bee Farm (reviewed by Arcadelife here), Fly Control, Cat Run, etc. An imminent mid-air bee collision is brought to your attention by big […]



Leave a comment